Creating a blog

How to create a blog

Introduction

What’s the difference between a blog and a post?

The blogs tab can be found second from the top of the navigation menu on the right hand side of the Site Dashboard landing page.

When landing on the first screen, you will see that there are two options - posts or blogs.

You are also able to see the name of the post, the author, the date it was published and which blog the post is a part of. If you click on the link under ‘title,’ it will direct you to the blog editor.

Create a New Blog

With Blutui, you can create as many blogs as you like. In order to create a new blog, all you need to do is click on any plus sign on the page. You can find this sign either next to the ‘news’ tab or in the bottom left hand corner.

Edit a Blog

You can edit a blog by clicking on the edit button on the right hand side of the page. You will then be taken to the blog editor where you can edit three main components; the title, description and main copy.

Editing Functions

You will also be able to use the following functions:

Icon Name
Normal text and heading formats
Bold
Italics
Underline
Strikethough
Bullet Point
Justification
Add a link to a piece of text
Insert image
Embedded video (vimeo, iframe, YouTube)
Blockquote, Code Snippet, Code Block and Divider

The styles of headings, normal text, blockquotes etc. are all controlled by the blog template which you can select when you create the blog. This is a template that your agency will write for you.

Publish or Delete a Blog

At the top right hand side of the page you will find the blue Publish button and the button with the three dots. Clicking on the Publish button will allow you to publish your blog post to your site. Please make sure that the timezone of your site is correctly set in the site settings so you know that your blog will publish at the correct date and time for your specific timezone.

If you click on the button with the three dots, this will pull up two options; 1. Delete Post and 2. Back to blogs. When you click Delete Post, a confirmation dialogue will come up to confirm your decision. Clicking on back to blogs will redirect you to the landing page of the blogs tab.